

"Innovate Europe with ambition, the best ideas, and strong regions"

Political Assembly – Munich 4-5 May 2023 Draft agenda

Thursday, 4 May

14:15 – 19:30 Political Assembly DAY 1

Isarpost - Sonnenstrasse 24-26 – 80331 München

14:15-14:30

OPENING OF THE POLITICAL ASSEMBLY

- Adoption of the Agenda
- Adoption of the Minutes of the Political Assembly of 9-10 March

14:30- 16:00

SESSION 1: SPECIAL INTERVENTION

- Manfred Weber, President of the EPP, Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament
- Friedrich Merz, MdB, President of CDU, Chairman of the CDU/CSU Group in the German Bundestag
- Dr. Markus Söder, MdL, Minister-President of Bavaria, President of CSU

Followed by a discussion moderated by EPP President Weber

16:00 – 16:30 *Coffee break*

16:30-18:00

SESSION 2: POWERING EUROPE'S FUTURE WITH INNOVATION

- Chaired by Mariya Gabriel, Vice-President of the EPP, Commissioner for Innovation
 - Dr. Jan Bormans, CEO, European StartUp Network (ESN)
 - Prof. Dr. Angelika Niebler, MEP, Deputy party leader CSU, head of the CSU delegation in the European Parliament
 - Milena Stoycheva, CEO of JA Bulgaria and The Edge: R&BD
 - Peter Vesterbacka, Founder, Entrepreneur and Investor
 - Prof. Dr. Isabell M. Welpe, Technical University of Munich

Followed by a discussion moderated by Vice-President Gabriel

18:00-19:30

SESSION 3: THE EPP AS THE ADVOCATE FOR THE RURAL AREAS

- Chaired by David McAllister, Vice-President of the EPP
 - Herbert Dorfmann, MEP, EPP Coordinator AGRI committee in the European Parliament
 - Gunther Felssner, President of the Bavarian Farmers' Association
 - Kestutis Navickas, Minister for Agriculture, Lithuania
 - Marija Vučković, Minister for Agriculture, Croatia

Followed by a discussion moderated by Vice-President McAllister

Conclusion by Thanasis Bakolas, Secretary General of the EPP

20:00 - BAVARIAN EVENING

Augustiner Bräustuben – Landsberger Strasse 19 – 80339 München

Greeting by

- Manfred Weber, President of the EPP, Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament
- Martin Huber, Secretary General of CSU

Friday, 5 May

9:00 – 14:00 Political Assembly DAY 2

Isarpost - Sonnenstrasse 24-26 – 80331 München

9:00-10:30

SESSION 4: INNOVATE EUROPE WITH STRONG REGIONS

- Chaired by Siegfried Mureşan, Vice-President of the EPP
- Olgierd Geblewicz, President of the EPP Group in the European Committee of the Regions
- Sven Schulze, State Minister for Economic Affairs and President of the CDU Sachsen-Anhalt, Member of the EPP Group in the European Committee of the Regions

Followed by a discussion moderated by Vice-President Mureşan

10:30-11:15

SESSION 5: WORKING TOGETHER – SPECIAL INTERVENTION

- Eduard Heger, Prime Minister of Slovakia

Followed by a discussion moderated by EPP President Weber

11:15- 11:45 SPECIAL INTERVENTION

- Natalia Gavrilița, Former Prime Minister of Moldova

Followed by a discussion moderated by EPP Vice-President Mureşan

11:45 - 12:00 SPECIAL INTERVENTION

- Elisabeth Schneider-Schneiter, Member of the National Council of Switzerland, Die Mitte

Followed by a discussion moderated by EPP Vice-President McAllister

12:15- 14:00

SESSION 6: INTERNAL PARTY MATTERS

- Membership
- Acknowledgement of name change and legal succession from Spolu to Democrats

- Support of WG EPP membership recommendation for upgrade of PDP BiH from Observer to Associate member

- Resolutions
- EPP Paper Powering Europe's Future with Innovation
- Reports
- Chairperson of the EPP Group in the European Committee of the Regions
- Chairperson of the EPP/CD Group in the CoE Parliamentary Assembly
- Chairperson of the EPP and likeminded Group in the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly
- Chairperson of the EPP and associated Group in the NATO Parliamentary Assembly
- Chairperson of the EPP Group in the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly
- President of the Martens Centre
- Associations (YEPP, EUCDW, SME europe, EPP Women, ESU, EDS, RSI)
- Member parties
- Any other business

Closing remarks by Manfred Weber, President of the EPP, Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament